hellomarylou

Inklings from within

Day Four

Leave a comment


One passion in your life?

Passion. There are so many layers of meaning in this word. According to wikipedia, (don’t hate my sources) the word passion comes from the Greek word paskho, which means, “to suffer.” This sheds light on why we hear about the “Passion of the Christ,” and why Easter dramas are sometimes called “Passion plays.” Merriam-Webster has listed as its first meaning the following: “the sufferings of Christ between the night of the Last Supper and his death.”
And there are those of us who are passionate in another sense of the word. Webster also lists the following meanings: “the emotions as distinguished from reason; ardent affection; a strong liking or desire for or devotion to some activity.” So, you could say there are those of us who are passionate about sports, knitting, good coffee, running, nutrition, careers, money, influence, fame, cars, houses, shoes, education, pets, social networking, music, art, the environment, politics, and on and on we could go.
And I started to think about the list of things running through my head that I thought perhaps I was passionate about. Travel, new cultures, Belgian design, good literature, knowing what I believe and why, minimalism, orphans, caramel frappes, my marriage. And it all fades. Those are things I’m deeply interested in, but to compare my feelings towards any of those things with the deeply intense suffering of Christ, is absurd. Laughable.
So I have a lot to consider. What am I really passionate about? What am I willing to suffer for? At the suffering level of the word, how do I find myself to be passionate?

20120705-212549.jpg
He actually died. For us. He loved us that much.

Author: hellomarylou

I'm a woman on a journey towards becoming who my Creator designed me to be......

Leave a Reply

