hellomarylou

Inklings from within

August

11 Comments


August- it rushes in with white hot heat, drenches us in humidity, and almost, almost makes us long for the coming season. Autumn is the season I relish most, but this year I’m watching its arrival with equal parts anticipation and trepidation. Anticipation for the crisp weather, apple cider, FOOTBALL, and campfires. Trepidation, because I know that just beyond the beautiful harvest sunsets lurks the icy grip of winter. But today, today I close my eyes, let the summer sun sink into my bones, and thank God for this day.
This day- today is an extra day off for me. I traded a few extra hours last evening for my entire shift today. Yesterday was a long day but today is bliss. I hung the laundry outside and enjoyed the clean, crisp smell of it when I brought it in. I chatted with our land-lady-we were standing in the yard when everyone else felt the earthquake. We didn’t feel a thing. I took my husband a glass of ice water while he mowed the lawn. I chopped up peppers and basil from my garden to put in the pasta sauce I made for dinner. Now DH is gone for the evening and I am reflecting.
Reflecting on August-

The second weekend in August we traveled to Oklahoma for my cousin Tony’s wedding. There were ten of us, assorted siblings, in-laws, Mom, and DH and I. We took two vehicles and had a great time traveling out there. The above photo features a number of us cousins that were lucky enough to be together for a few days. It was supposed to be a serious photo but some of us couldn’t maintain the seriousness. Oklahoma is…….vast. And beautiful. One night we sat out in the prairie watching the most fabulous lightning storm of our lives.

Last weekend DH and I took an impromptu weekend off in Delaware. We left Friday evening, checked into our hotel, then went out to dinner.

Dessert was complimentary coffee and cookies from the hotel. 🙂

{cute pillow}

{good books}

{good company}

The next day we crossed a few bridges, criss-crossing our way from Wilmington, to New Jersey, and back to Pennsylvania. We visited the Brandywine Zoo, (took us about 10 minutes to walk through the entire thing :)), a “farmer’s market” that wasn’t, Swedesboro, NJ for lunch, and then ended our day at one of my favorite stores in the universe.

{love}

{loveliness}

{beautiful $$$$ scarves}

{furniture I want to take home}

{more coffee}

{chalkboard}

{purple}

{love forever}

Lest you think it was an all butterflies and roses weekend…..it was not. It was one of those weekends where even though we were together, DH was being a perfect gentleman, and he played romantic music in the car while the rain came down…..there was something in my heart that was demanding more. More what? I’m not sure I could tell you. It was just this little voice in my head that wanted to somehow shake what I needed out of my husband. It was a demanding voice. And although I restrained it, by Saturday afternoon I felt myself starting to withdraw. I started making a mental list of reasons he was to blame for my discontented spirit.
Friday night I had picked up a book at B&N entitled “Every Woman’s Marriage,” and the small part of it that I had read started to come back to me, and I thought with surprise, “Oh this again.” My spirit was dry because I had not been feasting on living water. I had not been leaning on the only REAL source of fulfillment and joy available to me. Everything else is but a shadow of that source. Forgive me God. Forgive me husband. We put our relationships in rough place when we expect them to meet our every deepest need. Marriage is beautiful….but what gives it its beauty is what it reflects….and that is our relationship with our Creator. And He is so faithful to remind us of that, and not leave us stumbling in the dark forever.

Sunday night we celebrated my brother’s birthday, (pictured here with his gf) with grilled shish-kabobs, grilled veggies, cake and ice cream. And coffee.

We also discovered that his dog has an…..unauthorized pregnancy. Oh dear.

Until next time,
Marylou

Author: hellomarylou

I'm a woman on a journey towards becoming who my Creator designed me to be......

11 thoughts on “August

  1. Thank YOU for your honesty in your last post. It was a good reminder to me that my discontentment is most times due to my dry spirit.

    Glad we found each other’s blogs!

    -A

  2. Love this post! Wish you guys were coming this weekend. 🙂

  3. marylou, you have an amazing way of writing! that was a really good reminder to not make my husband feel like he has to be “God” to me.
    you are a beautiful person and i look forward to reading your blog again.
    see you tonight!

  4. I just want to sayyyyyyyyy . . . that this post makes me extremely happy. That’s all.
    Extremely.
    And, IS IT JUST ME OR DO YOU HAVE BLUE CONTACTS IN THE LAST PICTURE OF YOU??????????????

  5. ~~this post literally made me woozy with adoration.
    ok, so i am jealous of anyone with an iphone or whatever you have– that takes those cool pics with instax. (maybe that`s not what you have but looks like it.) the chalkboards and the hotel and the scarves and the room with all the books….just lovely! you looks lovely as well. thanks for always being such an encouragement to me. i always love your comments. 🙂

  6. This is beautiful. Do you mind if I link?

Leave a Reply

