hellomarylou

Inklings from within

Ever Onward

2 Comments


 

“Drop the the last year into the silent limbo of the past. Let it go, for it was imperfect, and thank God that it can go.” -Brooks Atkinson

 

This year, my New Years resolutions revolve less around doing new things, and more around doing “old” things, better. House-keeping, being one of the afore-mentioned “old” things, has ever been far from my cup of tea. But ignoring it, does not eventually lead to less house-keeping, it leads to ever more. Bigger piles of laundry, stacks of dishes as high as the Eifel tower. I should know, I’ve stacked them that high. I should also know that when turning a stiff crank, it gets easier if you keep cranking. Your muscles get stronger and the wheel spins faster. Stopping and starting only serves to illuminate the stiffness of the crank.

I’ve resolved to working through hard things in my life, no matter how emotionally or physically painful they may be. I’m ready to face the music, even when it sounds like the soundtrack to a movie about snow and winter and other sad things. ๐Ÿ™‚

The one fun challenge I am taking on for the first few months of the year is reading through the Bible in 90 days. A friend of mine pointed me towards this challenge and I’m excited about it. I’ve read through the Bible before but over a l o n g period of time. I started off a few days late but I plan to get caught up this week in order to finish in the first quarter of the year. Its been really interesting already to approach the Bible as a story, and just read through it, pausing only for brief moments to be shocked at its scandals and amazed by its God. There is a reading schedule you can download, (never mind the page #’s) and of course you can start at ANY time.

*************************************************************************************

We had a full, busy New Year’s weekend with my entire family, 31 people piled into Mom’s house for 3+ days. It was of course, a GOOD time. I can’t imagine life without my family; we have so much to be grateful for.

2011 didn’t wait to see if we were ready to start it, I found out on Monday at work that they’ve given me more hours at work. This is a good thing mostly…..we’ll see how it goes. ๐Ÿ™‚ This past Friday night David and I went out to dinner and then spent the night in Harrisburg. We spent almost all day yesterday at the farm show, walking around seeing the displays, petting alpacas, and watching the high school rodeo. I’m learning that you don’t have to travel to an exotic island to “get away.” A day or two away from home and routine can do wonders for a marriage or any friendship for that matter. ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy 2011!

M
arylou

 

 

P.S. Have you ever SEEN or TOUCHED an alpaca???

Author: hellomarylou

I'm a woman on a journey towards becoming who my Creator designed me to be......

2 thoughts on “Ever Onward

  1. Your New Years resolution sounds a bit like what’s been rolling around in my head. Housekeeping? Bah! It’s nice to know that at least one in Steve’s family struggles with it like I do.
    And no, I’ve never touched an alpaca… don’t they spit or barf on you? Maybe that was a dream I had. hmmm….

Leave a Reply

