hellomarylou

Inklings from within

I ran away today…

Leave a comment


I ran from my cold and I ran from my sore throat. I ran from my bed and my couch and the tissues and the Chapstick. After spending the day at home yesterday trying to fight off a cough and cold that threatened to overtake me from the neck up, I had to get out today. I can only drink great amounts of tea and water for so long. We all have our limits. I bid my faire husband farewell and I headed to a couple of my favorite stores, mostly to look, a little to shop. I had a couple of giftcards to Pottery Barn that were burning a hole in my pocket. And now they’re gone. Cause I found this:

So thank you Becky and Mom H., this is what you got me for Christmas! And I love it. It makes me look forward to long, summer days but  I think I’ll get some use out of it this winter as well. I’ve decided not to do any Christmas decorating this year. I seem to have created a habit of only dragging out all that stuff every other year. I’m not sure why……perhaps there’s a bit of the grinch in me. That and the fact that most of our Christmas is spent away from home in other people’s decorated houses….so why bother? 🙂

Anthropologie is mostly a looking/dreaming store for me. I go there more to be inspired than to shop. If you have never been to one, I highly recommend it, for their displays alone. I always come away with so many ideas for things I want to sew, or paint, or create. They make beautiful things out of the most ordinary, everyday things. Where Pottery Barn feeds my simple/classic aesthetic, Anthropologie feeds everything that is feminine, cutesy, whimsical. Living in this trailer/mobile home the last few years has allowed me to work out some kinks in what kinds of design and decor I’d want to have in our future “real” house. I’ve painted and repainted, hung curtains and taken them down, sanded and stained; and in doing so, I’ve gotten things I’ve always wanted to try, out of my system. I know what I like and I don’t like when it comes to the basics.

I wish I could have gotten few more pictures from Anthro but for some reason I felt really sneaky even taking these, like I was stealing their ideas or something. A lot of their displays had stacks of styrofoam cups and plates, as you can see on the top shelf of the picture above. It was cute but not really something I’m looking to duplicate. 🙂 I do want to recreate some of the really cute tea towels, placemats, and table runners I saw. They were oh so lovely.

Happy Christmas decorating and planning to you and yours!

 

Author: hellomarylou

I'm a woman on a journey towards becoming who my Creator designed me to be......

Leave a Reply

