hellomarylou

Inklings from within

Naked Glory

14 Comments


I’ve been inhaling wood dust for most of the day now and my nasal passages I’m sure will never be the same.

BUT, my hard work is not for naught…..

There she is, in all her naked glory. I’m captivated.

Charmed.

And pretty darn sure I will never be so cruel as to slap paint over her.

I had given much thought to painting her, and pretty much was planning on it…but I was shooting for a creamy warm color which, SURPRISE! she was wearing under her hideous cherry colored bath robe.

Painting her wouldΒ  be like those Hollywood types who already are beautiful and then go get plastic surgery and suddenly all you can see is how attractive they’re TRYING to be.

This girl, she’s got it. Naturally.

Dare I dream that I can finish this tonight??

Author: hellomarylou

I'm a woman on a journey towards becoming who my Creator designed me to be......

14 thoughts on “Naked Glory

  1. Looks great! Fabulous work. πŸ™‚

  2. Looks great! Love the smooth warm look. I personaly like that better than stark white!

  3. Haha! As I was looking at the pictures, I was thinking, wow, after all that work, she’s going to paint it?? Perfect sanding job!

    • Hahah Wilma…some might refer to it as a lazy sanding job.
      I was so sick of trying to get every nook and cranny.

      • I thought of this later as I was driving. πŸ™‚ This will get a little darker when you put the poly on, but if you want to keep it really light, check into a white stain. You would still be able to see the wood grain like a normal stain, but it would stay creamy white instead of honey colored.

  4. Lovely! As my Mom would say, “don’t gild the lily!” It’s beautiful just the way it is!

  5. Love it! Love it! I think you are finished tonight…
    I really like that it has the warm and old look all in one. You got yourself a beauty that I would like to have in my own living room!

  6. In case you wonder who just submitted the above post from the 100 marys that you know…it is me! Mari Strain. πŸ™‚

  7. Love it – let us see the room once the table is back in! Mj

  8. Wow! I love it like that…. yeah, I wanna’ see it too when it’s back in. πŸ™‚

  9. “Painting her would be like those Hollywood types who already are beautiful and then go get plastic surgery and suddenly all you can see is how attractive they’re TRYING to be.” That is a great line!

  10. That is GREAT! LOVE the lines on that coffee table! And I say with MJ, let’s see the finished product back in your living room. LOVE the pops of green in there from the previous post. Just beautiful as it is! I’m inspired. I’ve been thinking I want to do green somewhere in our new old house, and now I’m pretty much convinced. πŸ™‚

  11. It looks really pretty πŸ™‚ Awesome job on it. I too would love to see pics once the table has reached it’s new nesting spot. Obviously into decorating myself at the moment so I’m following your blog πŸ™‚ We did sage green and chocolate in our Master bedroom with a lighter tint in the master bath and it’s just beautiful! I’m all for going green,lol.

Leave a Reply

