hellomarylou

Inklings from within

Coffee Table Conundrum

11 Comments


First of all, how about this weather we’ve been having? Mmmmm. Lovely. I feel loved right down to my bones.

Now that you know how I feel about that, I’ll get right to my conundrum. I’ve been wanting to makeover the coffee table in our living room and have procrastinated for about…hmm…a year and a half now. I have commitment issues. I cannot decide which way I want to go. Do I stain it? What color? Do I paint it? Black or white or tiger stripe? Sand it, strip it, distress it? Well…I’m not letting it go any longer and am determined to have it done by the end of this month. I would LOVE to hear some ideas from you guys. Here is a picture of my living room with the coffee table.

Personally, I don’t think the coffee table does anything for the couch or any other part of the room. Its all orange-y and sorta yucky looking next to the warm brown sofa. It has Queen Anne style legs which are really my style but its a well made table and I intend to make good use of it. I’m also searching for something new for the wall. Again, commitment issues. So help me Rhonda, help help me Rhonda. What would you do?

Here are a few pictures of living rooms that I love at least in part…

Warm tones. Mostly clean lines. Function. Pops of green. Lovely.

I love the light in white rooms. I can’t see myself ever going this white…but there are parts of it I love. I love the different tones and textures.

I die. I die. The yellow door. The beams. The floor. The wall. The BOOKS. The sunlight coming through. Exchange the printed sofa for my leather one and I might never leave that room.

I look forward to hearing from you. Any advice no matter how large or small or bold or offensive or fabulous is welcome. Thank you.

****************************************************************************************************************

One of my favorite bloggers is doing a giveaway. She’s a huge inspiration and has done FABULOUS things in her house.

Go on over, check her out, and win something! Baileyandme2

****************************************************************************************************************

If any of you are familiar with WordPress or just computer geniuses in general can you please let me know….I need a little help with something.

Thanks!

Author: hellomarylou

I'm a woman on a journey towards becoming who my Creator designed me to be......

11 thoughts on “Coffee Table Conundrum

  1. i followed your link back here and wanted to say we must have the exact same style!!!! those pictures you posted are gorgeous!!! moaning over here. 😉 i love earth tones with green. majorly yummy!!!!

  2. Hmm, that’s a tough one. I have a coffee table that looks like it might be the same as yours, but smaller. I’ve been trying to get up the nerve/gumption to paint it black, but my walls, furniture & rug are lighter than yours. I’m thinking if you make it dark, your living room might turn into a black hole. How about beige with a darker glaze? It would pull in the beige thingy you have on the wall, and maybe throw a few more light pillows on the couch? Good luck!

    • You’re right about the dark hole thing. I’m leaning towards a whitey/beigey color…..about the glazing, have you ever done it? I was at the hardware store today and they didn’t have any and didn’t really know anything about it. If you’ve got any tips I’d love to hear them.

  3. To get the look you’re showing in those pics (which I love, btw) I would suggest painting the walls a light color. I can’t see from the pic what the room looks with the blinds open as far as light, but if it were my room I think I would paint the walls a lighter color – even just a neutral and then maybe do the coffee table either like wilma suggested or sanding it down and then kinda keeping it more a natural color. I LOVE your couch – there is so much you can do when you have a great piece like that to work with. Ok I’ll shut up now.

    • Shannon, the room does have more light in it than the picture would indicate. As intrigued as I am by the idea of painting the walls, I know deep inside its not going to happen anytime soon. 😦 So I’m thinking…I probably do need to make the table lighter….

  4. Paint the table a crazy color then make it look rustic. Looking up pics and will e-mail you. 🙂

  5. Wish I could help you, but I’m a bit lacking in that department! 🙂

Leave a Reply

