hellomarylou

Inklings from within

Happy Truth!

1 Comment


IMG_2582_edited-1

“Nobody grows old merely by living a number of years. We grow old by deserting our ideals. Years may wrinkle the skin, but to give up enthusiasm wrinkles the soul.” -Samuel Ullman

As a stay at home wife it’s easy sometimes to let the days just meander past you as you stumble around aimlessly in your pj’s ’til one in the afternoon. (not that that’s ever happened to me!) Somewhere between drifting from blog to blog to blog online (I hate the internet, I love the internet) and turning on the tv too much I realize the day has passed me by and my list of accomplishments and world-changing endeavors is drastically shorter than I had imagined. I know this is the first time in my life since I was like about…13ish that I haven’t been at work, holding down a job. So, I give myself a little break…but its been more than a little break now, and I apologize to all you moms out there who are probably wondering WHAT my problem is.

My sanguinity does not help in the matter, as I take up new experiences (like being a full-time housewife) with great enthusiasm and then fizzle out in great boredom long before something becomes a serious habit. The flip side of this weakness is not being able to hold a grudge or stay mad at someone very long; I just get bored with all the animosity and forgive and move on. But lo, I’m trying to confess my weaknesses here today. I have moments of brilliance (like the day I TOTALLY re-did David’s office in one day) but my consistency of schedule in most areas of household duties is sketchy at best.

I think there are a number of different reasons for the lethargy I’ve been feeling but I think a lot of it is a mental game, what I spend my time thinking about. I know its good to be informed of the news of the day….but when the news of the day is mostly corruption, crime, and sin, it has a way of getting you down subconsciously.

And so….in the next few days/weeks I’m going to endeavor to live with ENTHUSIASM, to PURPOSEFULLY go throughout my day. This is not just about becoming a working machine, it’s about THINKING with purpose, actively living in the HAPPY TRUTH that the Creator of the universe loves ME, and He pursues me with His great love everyday! What kind of response does that warrant from me?

Two verses:

“And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise.” Phil. 4:8

“Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with your might; for there is no work or device or knowledge or wisdom in the grave where you are going.” Ecc. 9:10

And lastly, this lovely poem I found when searching for the opening quote on this post:

“Youth is not a time of life; it is a state of mind; it is not a matter of rosy cheeks, red lips, and supple knees; it is a matter of the will, a quality of the imagination, a vigor of the emotions; it is the freshness of the deep springs of life.

Youth means a temperamental predominance of courage over timidity of the appetite, for adventure over the love of ease. This often exists in a man of sixty more than a body of twenty. Nobody grows old merely by a number of years. We grow old by deserting our ideals.

Years may wrinkle the skin, but to give up enthusiasm wrinkles the soul. Worry, fear, self-distrust bows the heart and turns the spirit back to dust.

Whether sixty or sixteen, there is in every human being’s heart the lure of wonder, the unfailing child-like appetite of what’s next, and the joy of the game of living. In the center of your heart and my heart there is a wireless station; so long as it receives messages of beauty, hope, cheer, courage and power from men and from the Infinite, so long are you young.

When the aerials are down, and your spirit is covered with snows of cynicism and the ice of pessimism, then you are grown old, even at twenty, but as long as your aerials are up, to catch the waves of optimism, there is hope you may die young at eighty.” Samuel Ullman

Live and THINK with purpose and ENTHUSIASM!

photo by d. kauffman



Author: hellomarylou

I'm a woman on a journey towards becoming who my Creator designed me to be......

One thought on “Happy Truth!

  1. oh dear, I am in that ‘stumbling around aimlessly’ rut right now. I hate it….I despise it! Thanks for the inspiration. 🙂

Leave a Reply

